Let’s Call it a Prologue – Obligatory First Blog Entry

Hello everyone, and welcome to my blog. I just want to take this opportunity to tell you a little about myself and maybe what I hope to achieve. Long story short, I want to become a better writer, and I’m going to be posting some of my content here.

I’m a 25 year old college grad living in Springfield, MO. I consider myself a nerd and have nerd hobbies, such as video games, painting miniatures, role playing, reading books and playing video games. I know I said video games twice. I play them a lot, and I’ve come to accept that.

Until recently I wanted to be a teacher. I’m fully certified in Speech and Theatre, but after a year and a half of substitute teaching I’m burnt out. The constant, daily struggle for dominance against an endless, ever changing sea of students just got to be too much. I wasn’t prepared for the loss. Cut off from the constant surety of purpose that I’d held for half of my life, I find myself adrift for the first time. I guess thinking back now, it’s no wonder that I started writing again. Being lost in the world I turned my attention inwards, and while I would like to say that this was a pleasant alternative, I find myself unable to do so. I wasn’t lying when I said I’d been broken, and the world inside my head became a dark, sad, lonely place to dwell.

To make a long story short there was depression, pills, therapy and frustration. And now, I’ve been trying to see if I can take that inwards perspective on life and focus it outwards again. And I’ve started writing.

I think I’ve always been good at writing. At least that’s what my grades always said (but let’s not get started on my views about the state of the public school system). I took writing courses in college whenever I had a spare elective, and I even got a story published in the school’s literature magazine (The Moon City Review). But up until now I’ve never really done it as a creative hobby. So now I’m going to try!

As I already mentioned, I’m a nerd. So I’m writing about nerdy things. Fantasy. Sci-Fi. And horror. Lots of horror. In fact, most of this blog will be dedicated to horror fiction. I can’t promise I won’t throw in the occasional rant, but that’s as may be.

My main purpose for starting this blog is to showcase some of the writing exercises I’ve been doing with increasing regularity as of late. For the most part, these “exercises” are just me writing whatever I feel like for at least an hour every day, though sometimes I will do more. I probably won’t be sharing these, for a few reasons. Mostly, because I’m not exactly proud of all of them. But that’s okay. Not all of them are meant to be shared. In some cases its the doing that’s important. And also, even if I am proud of them, sharing them serves little purpose other than to preen my own ego.

No, the writings I intend to share are the ones that began with a purpose, something I hoped to achieve. Most of these won’t be full stories. They will be short snippets where I attempted to improve one portion of my writing skill; things like dialogue, intense description, emotive writing, pace variation, etc…

I intend to share these writings because that’s where I’m at right now. I would rather hone my skill and attain a modicum of control over the craft before churning out any full stories. Eventually I would like to do just that, to feel confident in my own ability to the point where I can incorporate all these skills into a single story, and maybe even one day get some of them published. I don’t know how long that will take, but for now I don’t care. I’m just interested in improvement.

And so, with that, welcome. Please feel free to be brutally honest in any critiques you give. Tell me what I do well, and tell me why you like it, but also tell me what I don’t do well, how you can see it improving, or just give me ideas on what to try out next.

Thanks in advance,

E.W.

Leave a Reply

