Resources

Got a few links to share with you all tonight. This morning. Whatever. They are some good resources I’ve found recently and I think you should give them a look.

First off, thanks to those of you who read my latest post. I know it was just a rehash of an earlier story, but it marks the first time in my life that I’ve actually gone back to an unfinished story and tried to make it better. I haven’t gotten any feedback yet, but I’m hoping I will in the next few days.

Okay, over the past few days I’ve found 3 different resources for reading/listening material. I’ll give some links and I highly, HIGHLY recommend checking them out. Not only because they have some really good content on them, but also because they are free.

Tor.com – Many of you may know who TOR is. They do a lot of fantasy and science fiction publishing. It’s always been a secret dream of mine to have them publish a novel of mine.  Tor.com is a sister website to Tor Books devoted entirely to short fiction. Most of their stuff focuses on fantasy or sci-fi, with some horror and other speculative fiction. As far as I can tell, it’s 100% free and all online.

Lovecraft E-Zine – A web based lit-mag devoted entirely to works of Lovecraftian Horror. Eventually I think I will delete my story “The Pond” and submit it to this publication. They’ve had stories nominated for Stoker Awards for short fiction and seem to have a consistent amount of quality across the board. Check them out if you love the Cthulhu mythos, cosmic horror, or just good horror stories in general.

Pseudopod – This is probably my favorite discovery I’ve made. I love to listen to books. I love Librivox (check that out too if you haven’t) and Audible (though I haven’t been able to get anything from them in a while due to monetary concerns). Psuedopod is a podcast of great horror stories read by very good readers. I haven’t listened to many, but most of the onse I have listened to have had some bits from the authors describing their process/inspiration for the stories. It’s a great sight.

Check em out. Highly recommended, and I’ll be using them extensively in the near future.

Leave a Reply

